Select Page

The interim agreement provides for annual wage increases and maintains excellent performance for workers, while creating a program to reduce the national shortage of health workers. If the agreement is ratified, Kaiser Permanente – including its members, staff and local communities – will ensure a sustainable future as the organization strives to make its quality integrated care model even more affordable and accessible in all regions. Another major union of the emperor — California Nurses Association (CNA) — was never part of the CKPU. CNA, now part of the National Nurses United Union, just agreed on March 20 on a new five-year contract with Kaiser, which includes increases of 12 to 19,000 registered nurses. At a meeting of CKPU unions in Portland in August 2017, SEIU-UHW insisted that the CKPU statutes be amended to give unions more clout based on their size. The CKPU`s decision-making process has always been based on a consensus among the constituent unions, although they have been of different sizes of tens to tens of thousands of members. The CKPU had negotiated five national collective agreements with Kaiser. The four-year contract between Kaiser Permanente and kaiser`s Coalition of Permanent Trade Unions would include 85,000 employees; The threat of strike action has been withdrawn. Kaiser-Management said that SEIU-UHW to promote such a measure violates the terms of its partnership agreement, and announced that it would exclude SEIU-UHW from participation in coalition negotiations in 2018. “We respect and value our people who do our mission every day,” says Arlene Peasnall, Acting Chief Human Resources Officer, Kaiser Permanent Health Plan and Hospitals.

“This agreement demonstrates the compassion and skill these collaborators bring every day and shows that the Permanent Emperor and the coalition have a common commitment to the affordability of our members. As a health service (HMO), the permanent emperor combines the characteristics of an insurance company with a hospital system. It operates in eight states: California, Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, Oregon, Washington, Maryland, Virginia and Washington, DC.